BeautyCounter Product Review

If there’s one thing we love, it’s trying new products…specifically makeup and skincare! So when we were offered the chance to try the BeautyCounter product line, we jumped at the opportunity! We had heard of BeautyCounter but didn’t know much about it so we started to do some research and were pleasantly surprised. What stood out the most was that they have banned the use of more than 1,500 questionable or harmful chemicals in their products (the US has only partially banned 30 to date…talk about scary!!). What we also really liked about their website is their transparency; they literally have a section called “Transparency” where they talk about their ingredient lists and specific chemicals they’ll never use.

Our friend here in Indy, Mandy, is a BeautyCounter consultant and was kind enough to let us try some of her products for a couple of weeks. Here are the products we tried and our thoughts on each of them:

(NOTE: almost all photos taken from their Instagram account)

JANELLE’S PICKS

First I tried their bath products for kids on my toddler: Super-Duper Clean Kids Body Wash, Nice Do Kids Shampoo, and Not a Knot Kids Conditioner. Before I even used these, I felt good because I knew I was using safe products on my little one. I really liked the light scent and how soft the shampoo and conditioner made my daughter’s hair…and she has a lot of hair! I could immediately see a difference and she liked it too!

Screen Shot 2017-09-13 at 2.55.53 PM

Next, I tried their Body Wash in Citrus Mimosa. It made my skin so soft, noticeably more than my regular body wash does. I followed it by using their Hydrating Body Lotion in Citrus Mimosa, which also made my skin really soft and smooth. I even found myself using it over my usual body lotion. The Citrus Mimosa scent is very light and refreshing, not overbearing.

I’m pretty picky about what I put on my face because my skin is sensitive. But one night before bed I decided to try their Nourishing Cream Exfoliator after I went to a fancy event and piled on the makeup. Sure enough, it took all my makeup off! I liked the little scrubbing beads, something I don’t usually use on my face. I followed the exfoliator by using the Nourishing Night Cream. At first, the night cream felt a little heavy on my face but it slowly absorbed into my skin and felt great when I woke up in the morning.

Of all of the BeautyCounter products I tried, the Volumizing Mascara was the biggest surprise because I’m very picky about my mascara. I’ve tried So. Many. Mascaras. and have only found two that I will use. What I really liked is that it didn’t clump or flake on my lashes and it really did make them look fuller and longer. The brush is a little larger than I like, but I think that’s what makes the lashes look their best. I would highly recommend the mascara!

Screen Shot 2017-09-13 at 2.56.15 PM

 

LYS’S PICKS

First off, I LOVED the Cleansing Balm. I’ve never used a product like it before and, to be honest, was wondering how my skin would react after trying it. It seemed like the type of formula that could cause a breakout, but that never happened once! Instead, it was incredibly moisturizing while removing all my makeup. It left my skin glowing and smooth in a way I have never seen a cleanser do. I also like that you can leave it on for a little while longer and use it as a moisturizing face mask. The product is pricey, but it feels very luxurious, will last a long time, and I honestly believe it is worth the cost.

Screen Shot 2017-09-13 at 2.56.33 PM

I have never used a face oil before because, again, I was afraid how my skin would react. But when I used the Balancing Facial Oil, I was very surprised. I really liked the way my skin felt after every application – very supple and plumped and am now fully convinced of the benefits of this kind of product.

After using the Balancing Facial Mist, I am a big fan! It helped refresh my face and set my makeup. I particularly enjoyed the subtle rose scent of this product and used it both on bare skin (for toning) and after makeup application (for setting).

I tried several of their makeup products and particularly like the Powder Blush Duo they offer. The two colors in each set are designed to emulate flushed cheeks and the tawny/whisper combo is pretty universal and gives a healthy glow to my fair skin. It also blended perfectly into my foundation.

Screen Shot 2017-09-13 at 2.57.00 PM

And finally one of the most useful products, by far, was the peppermint Lip Conditioner. The lip conditioner felt so soft and really hydrated my lips. I liked it so much that I used it during labor because my lips were so dry! (The picture below is in the hospital with the lip conditioner sitting on my belly 🙂

FullSizeRender (16)

So if you live in the Indianapolis area and are interested in trying BeautyCounter, contact Mandy by clicking here! Any orders over $100 placed under our Shades of Green social (there is a spot that says “Shop Amanda’s Socials) on Mandy’s website will be entered to win a volumizing mascara! And if more than ten orders are placed, any order over $100 will be entered to win a free cleansing balm! And trust us, you WANT the cleansing balm!

We hope you like their products as much as we do…we think you will!

Screen Shot 2016-08-04 at 1.40.15 PMScreen Shot 2016-08-17 at 6.46.13 PM

13 thoughts on “BeautyCounter Product Review

  1. Thank you for your review! Never heard of this brand before but I definitely need to check it out! xx

    simonehjulmand.com

  2. I’ve LOVED pretty much everything I’ve tried from BeautyCounter, honestly. But I think one of my top items from them are the makeup bags I’ve received. They’re white (leather-like) on the outside, b&w striped on the inside… with a GOLD zipper. Just screams photograph me for flatlays! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *